Visit MusicStack! "We specialize in helping individuals, collectors and DJs locate hard to find music, rare vinyl records and used CDs".

12 best box sets in 2013

Jesus and Mary Chain Box Set
The Jesus and Mary Chain [Vinyl Limited Edition, Box set] Collector's Edition 12LP Anniversary vinyl box set featuring all six studio albums re-mastered at half-speed from source-Bespoke 'Live In Concert' / 'BBC Sessions' and fan picked 'B-Sides & Rarities' LPs.

- 40-page-booklet housing essays and interviews
- A1 Anniversary Poster including digital uploads of fans' faces
- Photo cards and machine numbering
- All LPs cut to Heavyweight, 180-gram vinyl
- Strictly limited to 1500 units worldwide
- Celebrating the 30th Anniversary of the band's formation
John Martyn - Island Years
John Martyn - The Island Years [Box set, CD+DVD] The Island Years is the most exhaustive career retrospective from one of Britain’s most original and enduring singer/songwriters. Housed in an LP size hard-back slip case, this lavish box set contains 18 Discs including:

- 17 CDs featuring 12 key studio albums, recorded for Island between 1967 and 1987, now with previously unreleased mixes, Out-Takes, unheard songs and 2 complete, previously unreleased live solo concerts from 1972 and 1977 and the complete demos for The Apprentice, the last album Martyn delivered to Island.

- 1 DVD containing rare television performances from the Old Grey Whistle Test, Sight and Sound – In Concert, A Little Night Music and first time on DVD for the VHS release, Foundations.

- A hard-back book featuring a new essay by The Island Years compiler and researcher John Hillarby plus rare and previously unseen photographs and extensive memorabilia.

There is a strong selection of previously unreleased alternative takes from Martyn’s career defining 70s albums Stormbringer, The Road To Ruin, Bless The Weather, Solid Air, Inside Out, Sunday’s Child and One World; plus there are extensive outtakes and a number of unreleased songs from Martyn’s 80s Island releases: Grace And Danger, Sapphire and Piece By Piece.
CAN - Vinyl Box Set [Box set, Limited Edition] This is a vinyl boxset of all their official albums wonderfully produced with 1 rare live album from 1975 in exactly replicated covers and various emphemera including posters and book which has great photos of the band and pertinent information.
The Jam
The Jam - The Studio Recordings [8LP Box set] - Eight piece vinyl-only box set limited edition
- All six studio albums, re-mastered
- Two brand new discs of non-album singles and b-sides
- Heavyweight vinyl
- 44-page hardback book with new liner notes by John Harris (Guardian / Mojo)
- Introduction by Paul Weller
- Period photos and memorabilia
- Housed in full-colour rigid slipcase
- Includes a voucher to download an MP3 version of the albums
Bob Dylan
Bob Dylan
Bob Dylan - The Complete Album Collection [14CD Box set] The Complete Album Collection, Vol. One brings those musical journeys together in one deluxe box set. All of Dylan’s original studio and live albums are included--42 albums in all. Fourteen of these have been newly remastered for this set, and each is housed in mini-jacket packaging, perfectly replicating each original release. Also included in The Complete Album Collection, Vol. One is Side Tracks, a new two-disc set of songs from non-album singles, compilations and more. A deluxe 268-page booklet featuring new essays, original liner notes and detailed discographical information is also be included.

The following albums were remastered for the box:

1. Self Portrait (1970) - newly remastered for this collection
2. Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid (1973) - newly remastered for this collection
3. Dylan (1973) - newly remastered for this collection
4. Street Legal (1978) - newly remastered for this collection
5. Saved (1980) - newly remastered for this collection
6. Empire Burlesque (1985) - newly remastered for this collection
7. Knocked Out Loaded (1986) - newly remastered for this collection
8. Down in the Groove (1988) - newly remastered for this collection
9. Under the Red Sky (1990) - newly remastered for this collection
10. Good as I Been to You (1992) - newly remastered for this collection
11. World Gone Wrong (1993) - newly remastered for this collection
12. Hard Rain (1976) - newly remastered for this collection
13. Bob Dylan at Budokan (1979) - newly remastered for this collection
14. Real Live (1984) - newly remastered for this collection

All albums in the box are the stereo version.
Frank Sinatra
Frank Sinatra - Duets - 20Th Anniversary [Super Deluxe Box set, CD+DVD+2LP] To commemorate the 20th Anniversary of the groundbreaking, multi-platinum selling album, Capitol/Universal Music will release Frank Sinatra: Sinatra Duets - Twentieth Anniversary.

The Super Deluxe Box Set features Duets and Duets II 180-gram heavyweight vinyl records in a gatefold LP jacket, Duets and Duets II with bonus and unreleased tracks, a bonus CD of Classic Duets along with a DVD featuring interviews, the official EPK and a promo video of “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” duet with Bono, plus a 20-page LP sized booklet with rare photos and new liner notes, an embossed lithograph, all housed in an elegant 12”x12” box complete with a gold foil-stamped title.

The 2-CD Deluxe Edition features bonus and unreleased tracks and a 32-page booklet with rare photos and new liner notes. In addition to these three anniversary editions, Best Of Duets, presents a 14-song, single-disc collection featuring key tracks from both Duets and Duets II and the bonus track “My Way” featuring Luciano Pavarotti.
Daft Punk
Daft Punk
Daft Punk - Random Acces Memories [Deluxe Box Set] This release is a real multi-media box featuring vinyl records, a book, robot posters, and two USB sticks with hi-res audio and high definition video.
Suede - The Vinyl Box Set [Box set, Collector's Edition] Definitive vinyl box set containing all 6 studio albums across 11 pieces of 180 gm heavyweight vinyl (Suede, Dog Man Star, Coming Up, Head Music, A New Morning, Bloodsports*), plus 'Sci-Fi Lullabies' (b-sides compilation).
This will be the first time that A New Morning and Sci-Fi Lullabies have been produced on vinyl. The highly collectable box set will be numbered and limited to just 1500 copies, and includes an exclusive book with 2013 interviews with the band and photography.
*All LPs remastered except Bloodsports using the existing master.
Cheap Trick
Cheap Trick - The Complete Epic Albums Collection [Box set] Superb value, very nicely presented in mini-LP carboard sleeves. In Color, Dream Police and Complete Budokan all come in gatefolds.

The CD's in this new boxset however blow away the previous remasters, as well as sounding much better than the original CD's. Buy It!!
Fleetwood Mac 1969-1972
Fleetwood Mac - 1969-1972 [Box set, Limited Edition] Thank you Rhino - this is a fascinating choice for a box set of Fleetwood Mac vinyl reissues. Why? Because these 4 albums are as diverse as they are excellent and from the period of time when FM were a very big deal in their Homeland but just gaining traction in North America.
Third Man Records Exclusive Third Man Records - Holiday Paramount Bundle Have you got any of the box sets? Write a review or make a comment below.
What next?
More from the Collectors Blog
Write a blog post!
Go to the Record Store Section
⇙ Comment on 12 best box sets in 2013